Summary All Roads Lead to Jericho

April 2, 2021 –

Today, Christians know all roads lead not to Rome but Jericho. Spiritually, there are four roads:

  1. The Road to Jerusalem or the “Road of Salvation” where we experience a rebirth.
  2. The Road to Emmaus or the “Road of Revelation” where God reveals Himself to us.
  3. The Road to Damascus or the “Road of Designation” where God gives us a mission.
  4. The Road to Jericho—the “Road of Participation” where Jesus tests our faith. Somewhere on the road, Jesus asks the traveler, “Who is your neighbor?” Our answer and reaction to His command, “Love your neighbor as yourself,” determines whether we hear, “Well done thy good and faithful servant, enter My rest.”

Characteristics of the Four Roads:

– Each road requires movement toward the destination.

– Each road has obstacles to overcome.

– We walk each road in sequence.

– Each road has its reward.

– Each road brings you closer to a walk with God.

As we journey on the first three roads—Jerusalem, Emmaus, and Damascus, we experience the Love and the transforming power of God.

  • Jerusalem: the opportunity to be transformed from being a sinner and lost to being redeemed and saved.
  • Emmaus: the chance to be converted from a doubter to a believer.
  • Damascus: the opportunity to be changed from being self-directed to being God-directed.

As we journey on the Jericho road, we show our Love for God through our Love for our neighbor. Jericho is the opportunity to be transformed from a spectator into a participant, from being self-righteous and unconcerned about the loss to being broken-hearted and having a sense of responsibility for the lost neighbor’s condition. We step outside the box.

Christ arose from the grave to SAVE us, SANCTIFY us, and SEND us. I forgive Christians experience and receive salvation and sent out to tell others of God’s saving grace.

First, you come to Christ.

Next, Christ reveals Himself.

Then, Christ commissions you.

Lastly, you walk with Christ.